Get Back on the road after a DUI or DWI
DUI Insurance in the Carolinas
DUI – DWI Insurance doesn’t have to be complicated. You can save on liability and full coverage insurance even if you have had a DUI or DWI. Certain carriers that have tiered themselves to provide discounts for the driver that has a one DUI conviction in the last 3 years.
Our agents can help you complete and file your state required form ensuring you have DUI insurance coverage, so the state knows you are adequately protected and within the North Carolina legal requirements for liability coverage limits.
Contact us today for information on filing for and receiving DUI insurance coverage.
What is DWI DUI Insurance?
While not an actual insurance type, many relate it as being such. Of course it is tied to the idea, it provides automobile insurance coverage for those who have had a DUI or DWI.
State law requires that all those who have been convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) must prove that they carry higher liability limits on their car insurance policies.
Are you covered in accordance with the law? In order to prove that you hold the required limits for liability coverage, you many need to fill out special forms.
Resources for North Carolina Drivers
Resources for drivers seeking information regarding DUI & DWI in North Carolina. The following links and text is for informational purposes and does not constitute legal advice. It is recommended that you seek qualified legal advice in your area and/or jurisdiction.
Frequently Asked Questions About DUI Insurance
Frequently Asked Questions
Many insurers regard DUI and DWI offenders as an unacceptable or high risk. Some insurers that provide DUI Insurance may charge drivers with significantly higher rates. Fortunately there are insures that offer favorable rates to drivers who have learned to be safer drivers by completing safe driving programs and/or substance abuse programs.
You need to know what is on your driving record. and will need to call the DMV to ask them what is needed to reinstate your license.
A DUI violation stays on your driving record for 7 years. While many insurance companies look 5 or even 7 years back for these violations we have many that only charge DUI's for 3 years which would provide some relief on your payments.
First time DUI and DWI offenders may likely have to file an SR-22 (or FR-44) Certificate of Financial Responsibility Form showing that they have the proper amount of auto insurance.